Share This

The Union is composed of its members as a whole. The power of our Union rests upon our collective strength. The highest authority in our Union is the membership. Our members democratically elect CUPW’s leaders at all levels.

CUPW leaders follow the union’s Constitution and the decisions of CUPW members at National Convention.

The 7-member National Executive Committee (NEC), which makes day-to-day decisions, is:

  • The National President
  • First National Vice-President
  • The National Secretary-Treasurer
  • The National Grievance Officer
  • Second National Vice-President
  • Third National Vice-President
  • Fourth National Vice-President

The 15-member National Executive Board (NEB), which meets every two months, is responsible for the leadership and administration of the union. It is: 

The National Directors provide leadership on union activity in their Regions.

Regional Executive Committees are composed of: 

  • The National Director
  • The Regional Education and Organization Officer
  • The Regional Grievance Officer

National and Regional Union Representatives (URs) work on specific files. 

Local Presidents, Local Secretary-Treasurers and other Local officers are elected by Local members at their meetings. Shop Stewards represent the Union on the work floor.

National Executive Committee (NEC)

Jan Simpson
National President

Julee Sanderson
1st National Vice-President

Bev Collins
National Secretary-Treasurer

Carl Girouard
National Grievance Officer

Dave Bleakney
2nd National Vice-President

Jean-Philippe Grenier
3rd National Vice-President

Martin Champagne
4th National Vice-President

National Directors

Jeff Callaghan
National Director - Atlantic

François Senneville
National Director - Québec

Nancy Beauchamp
National Director - Metro-Montréal

Mark Evard
National Director - Central

Mark Platt
National Director - Ontario

Walter Woloschuk
National Director - Metro-Toronto

Lana Smidt
National Director - Prairie

Coleen Jones
National Director - Pacific

National Union Representatives (NUR)

Sylvain Sicotte
National Union Representative - Grievances (French)

Jim Moffatt
National Union Representative - Grievances (English)

Barb McMillan
National Union representative - Grievances

Joanne Gomercich
National Union Representative - Grievances

Rona Eckert
National Union representative - Consultation

Marc Roussel
National Union Representative - Health and Safety

Don Foreman
National Union Representative - Under direction of NEC

Yves Hénault
National Union Representative - Education (French)

Richard Gaboton
National Union Representative - Education (English)

Nicolas Presne
National Union Representative - Staffing

Aaron Spires
National Union Representative - External Organising