Agreement with CPC on Personal Days Allows Maximum Allotment of 12 Days

Share This

Friday June 16 2017

We have worked out an agreement with Canada Post Corporation (CPC) on the carry-over of personal days. This will ensure that members can be entitled to the full allotment of personal days, even during the transition to the July 1 personal days cycle.


Transition Period

Under the current urban (UPO) and Rural and Suburban Mail Carriers (RSMC) collective agreements, each member can carry over up to five (5) personal days from year to year. But we are now in a transition period. At the start of this period, in January 2017, each member obtained five (5) personal days. You will get an additional 5.5 days on July 1st, 2017 to cover you until June 30, 2018, the end of the transition period. On July 1st, 2017, you would normally be entitled to carry over a maximum of five (5) days, and with the new allotment of 5.5 days, each worker would have a maximum 10.5 days accumulated instead of the full allotment of 12 (the 7 you get at the start of the new leave year and the 5 you can carry over).

In that context, we approached CPC with a proposal: that for this one time, members be allowed to carry over up to 6.5 days, making it possible for members to reach the maximum allotment of 12.

Yesterday, CPC agreed to our proposal.


One-time agreement

This applies to carry-over into July 2017. After that, the rules in the collective agreement will apply – carry-over of up to 5 days.

This agreement applies the same way to RSMCs, RSMCs cannot take personal days in increments of one half. Therefore, CPC will pay out any remaining half days next year (July 1, 2018, to be paid out by September 30, 2018) to result in RSMCs having a whole number of personal days from then on.


ESS (Employee Self Service)

This agreement also means that if you’ve selected 100% carry-over in ESS, 6.5 days will be automatically carried over, instead of 5, for July 2017. If you need to change your carry-over choice, you can do so in ESS between July 1 and 15, 2017.



Mike Palecek
National President (2015-2019)