Pilot Project in Montreal will Create Jobs!

Share This

Tuesday February 24 2015

CUPW and Canada Post have agreed to conduct a new pilot project that converts householder payments into time values, tests of larger sized householders and creates jobs. The parties recently signed a memorandum of agreement (MOA) to pursue this project at the joint union-management committee that operates under Appendix AA of the collective agreement.

The pilot project will begin on March 16, 2015 and lasts for a year.

The MOA states that the union and employer agree that the following tests shall be conducted as part of the project:

Introduce, test and assess new time values as specified…to obtain, prepare and deliver standard Unaddressed Admail items on all letter carrier routes in the following postal units: Marseille 1, 2 and 3.

For the duration of this pilot, the letter carriers serving the routes affected by this project will no longer receive the householder delivery premium for items measuring up to 12” x 9” and weighing up to 115 grams. It is understood that the delivery of these products will be spread over three days. Appendix “D” of the collective agreement shall continue to apply for all product specifications over 115 grams.

The MOA calls for the identification of assignments whose creation is the direct result of the project.

The restructure performed for the project will create 20 full-time and 2 part-time routes. This is a very significant increase in that there are currently 106 full-time routes and 4 part-time routes in Marseille 1, 2 and 3.  Out of those routes, the union estimates that 18 full-time equivalent routes are the result of the increase of time assessment according to the unaddressed admail items. The remaining of jobs creation is according to corrections of the previous restructure.

The MOA also states that the project will last for one year and may be extended if both parties agree. This project will enable us to evaluate the impact on members such as health and safety and worker satisfaction.

In Solidarity,

Gayle Bossenberry
1st National Vice-President (2008-2015)
Martin Champagne
4th National Vice-President